Melting Pot Pecan Pie

Why Melting Pot? Because this is my own recipe, forged over 20 years of life in the United States, bits and pieces picked up at each duty station, in each new micro-culture with America. Bourbon, of course, is the addition of our current home, Kentucky.

The Tabasco secret was given to me by the owner/chef of a Cajun restaurant in, of all places, central Illinois. A Louisiana transplant, I ate real Cajun food for the first time in his place and have been in love since. Crawfish étouffée, boudin sausage, jambalaya, and po’boys… but best of all was the pecan pie at the end.

Running out of white corn syrup and not wanting to run out to the store with a newborn, led me to the much richer taste of dark corn syrup. I’d love to try making this with dark brown sugar for an even richer taste!   A coworker in Virginia’s homemade version taught me that the crunch of pecan halves is much more pleasing than bits of chopped up nuts. I honestly don’t remember who first gave me permission to use prepared pie crusts, but God bless them. Trader Joe’s has sealed that deal… so much better than anything I can make.

Melting Pot Pecan Pie

Ingredients:
• 4 medium eggs
• 1 cup brown sugar, packed
• 1 cup dark corn syrup
• 3 Tbs butter, melted
• 1 tsp vanilla
• 1 Tbs Kentucky bourbon
• 1/8 tsp Louisiana hot sauce
• 1/4 tsp salt
• 2 cups pecans, halved
• 1 prepared pie crust (I use Trader Joe’s)

Directions:
Add eggs, brown sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, bourbon, hot sauce, and salt to a bowl and mix well. Stir in pecans, ensure they are completely incorporated into the wet ingredients. Pour into prepared pie crust (I use Trader Joes, but homemade or Pillsbury is fine). Bake in a preheated 350°F oven for 50 minutes. Yield: (1) 9-inch pie.

Now I’m craving Cajun food. The kind I don’t have to cook or clean up the kitchen after its preparation…

Leave a Reply

